readergirlz is a literacy and social media project for teens, awarded the National Book Foundation's Innovations in Reading Prize. The rgz blog serves as a depot for news and YA reviews from industry professionals and teens. As volunteers return full force to their own YA writing, the organization continues to hold one initiative a year to impact teen literacy. All are welcome to "like" us on Facebook!

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

National Book Award Judges for 2009

This just in from the National Book Foundation's newsletter:

In Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People's Literature

The National Book Foundation has announced the twenty writers who will serve as judges for the 2009 National Book Awards. These writers are from all across the country and represent a variety of backgrounds and diverse writing styles and include National Book Award Winners and Finalists, two Pulitzer Prize winners, a PEN-USA Award winner, a Whitbread Prize winner, and recipients of Newbery Honors and the Michael L. Printz award.

The Judges for the 2009 National Book Awards:

Young People's Literature panel: Kathi Appelt, Coe Booth, Carolyn Coman, Nancy Werlin (chair), Gene Luen Yang

Woohoo! Let's give it up to these fantastic writers for their service! We can't wait to see the finalists!

My website


Sheila Ruth said...

Whew! That's a lot of honors for five people! What a talented group. Congrats to the judges, and I can't wait to see the finalists, either.

Melissa Walker said...

What a great panel of judges. Very cool!