readergirlz is a literacy and social media project for teens, awarded the National Book Foundation's Innovations in Reading Prize. The rgz blog serves as a depot for news and YA reviews from industry professionals and teens. As volunteers return full force to their own YA writing, the organization continues to hold one initiative a year to impact teen literacy. All are welcome to "like" us on Facebook!

Monday, January 10, 2011

The ALA's Youth Media Award Winners!

The American Library Association announced its Youth Media Award Winners today. Our congrats to all the Winners and Honors!

Here's a short list to whet your appetite. For a full list (including all of the awards plus the Honors books, which are also amazing!) go here.

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature
Moon over Manifest, written by Clare Vanderpool

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children
A Sick Day for Amos McGee, illustrated by Erin E. Stead

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults
Ship Breaker, written by Paolo Bacigalupi

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author of outstanding books for children and young adults
One Crazy Summer, left, written by Rita Williams-Garcia

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience
The teen (ages 13-18) award winner is Five Flavors of Dumb, written by Antony John and published by Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) Inc.

Pura Belpre (Author) Award honoring a Latino writer whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience
The Dreamer, written by Pam Munoz Ryan, illustrated by Peter Sís

Stonewall Children's and Young Adult Literature
Award, given annually to English-language children's and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered experience
Almost Perfect, right, written by Brian Katcher

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens
The Freak Observer, written by Blythe Woolston

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults during a November 1 – October 31 publishing year.
Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing, written by Ann Angel


Lorie Ann Grover said...

Congratulations to the winners. Thanks to the judges!

Special shout out to our own Rita!

Micol Ostow said...

Congrats to all of the winners! Rita was one of my advisors at grad school and I'm CRAZY happy for her!